7 selected for Dokolo District Woman MP by-election

7 selected for Dokolo District Woman MP by-election

Following the death of Dokolo District Woman Member of Parliament Cecilia Ogwal on January 18, the Electoral Commission (EC) nominated seven candidates for the Parliamentary by-election. The two-day nomination exercise presided over by Erikwaine Ngobi, the Dokolo District Returning Officer took place at the offices of the EC in Dokolo town.

Those nominated are Rosemary Austin Alwoc Ogwal from the Forum for Democratic Change (FDC), Janet Rose Adongo Elau from the ruling National Resistance Movement (NRM), Sarah Aguti from Uganda People’s Congress (UPC) and Harriet from the National Unity Platform (NUP).

Other are Esther Akullo Obot, Anna Grace Lalam, and Rebecca Arao, all independent candidates.

Rebecca Arao, the last independent candidate to be nominated believes her experience as a council member makes her better placed to represent the people of Dokolo in parliament, adding that despite being an NRM carder, the constitution permits her to contest as an independent.

Patience Baganzi, Dokolo District Police Commander emphasizes the need for all candidates to abide by the EC guidelines, especially when it comes to processions. According to the EC’s roadmap, the nominated candidates will engage in a seven-day campaign period from Thursday March 14 to Wednesday, March 20.


Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *