Ugandan Journalist wins prestigious IWOC award

Ugandan journalist, lawyer and social activist Agather Atuhaire on March 4 received the International Women of Courage Award (IWOC), 2024, in the United States of America. The award ceremony held at the White House was organized by US’s Secretary of State Anthony Bliken and First Lady Jill Biden.

Now in its 18th year, the Secretary of State’s IWOC Award recognizes women from around the globe who have demonstrated exceptional courage, strength, and leadership in advocating for peace, justice, human rights, gender equity and equality, and the empowerment of women and girls, in all their diversity, often at great personal risk and sacrifice. 

Since March 2007, the Department of State has recognized more than 190 women from 90 countries with the IWOC Award.  US diplomatic missions overseas nominate one woman of courage from their respective host countries and finalists are selected and approved by senior Department officials. 

Ms Atuhaire was recoginsed for her recent zeal in exposing the parliamentary abuse of processes, threats to multiparty democracy and governance, health sector abuses, sexual abuse in the NGO sector and violations of students’ rights.

Her dedication to alleviating suffering for others has brought change to Ugandan institutions such as Parliament, National Water and Sewerage Corporation (NWSC), Kampala Capital City Authority (KCCA), Ministry of Health, and the Law Development Center to name a few.  As team leader at AGORA, a platform to foster public discourse, social justice, public accountability, her team continues to hold leaders accountable through evidence-based activism, reporting, and civic awareness.

Following the IWOC ceremony, the awardees will participate in an in-person International Visitor Leadership Program (IVLP) and additional programming in Los Angeles, during which they will engage with American counterparts on strategies and ideas to empower women and girls around the globe.


Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *